4 Things You Should Know About the National Economy Committee

Published 2 years ago -

The parliament of Uganda has two different types of committees. Standing Committees and Sectoral Committees.

In accordance with article 90 of the constitution, the committee members are proposed by the Government chief whip and Opposition whip. The proposed names are then read out to the house (Parliament in session) the House appoints committee members by voting Yes or no to a name read.            

What Laws provide for Appointment of a committee member? 

According to article 183 (1) of the Rules of Procedure, there shall be Sectoral Committees of the House, whose members shall be designated by Whips on basis of Party or organization representation and interests of Independent Members in the House at the beginning of every session of parliament.

Article 155 (1) of the Rules of Procedure states that; the Standing committee of the House shall have the tenure of office of two and a half years and one of these committees is the Committee on National Economy.

What are the functions of the Committee?

Article 175 0f the Rules of Procedure clearly states the functions of the Committee on the National Economy and they include the following;

It shall be the function of the Committee on the National Economy to review, consider and scrutinize all matters relating to national economy generally, finance and any other matter referred to it by the House.

The Committee shall in particular examine and monitor the state of the national economy, to examine and make recommendations to the House on all loan agreements required to be authorized or approved by the House under article 159 of the constitution, to assess annually the performance of loans and guarantees approved by parliament, to examine the annual state of indebtedness and management of Government debt, including the Debt Management Performance Assessment Framework, to examine loan guarantee requests and assess the performance of existing ones by Government, to examine the report on grants received by Government and to explore means of improving the national economy.

Examining loan guarantee requests and assess the performance of existing ones by Government being of the functions of the Committee on the National Economy.

What is the composition of the Committee? 

The Committee is chaired by the Member of Parliament for Nakaseke County North, Nakaseke district Bbumba Syda Namirembe. Out of the 429 Members of Parliament, 35 Members sit on the Committee on National Economy. 25 Members support the National Resistance Movement (NRM ) party, 6 belong to the Independent and 4 members support the Forum for Democratic Change(FDC).

The table below shows their professions and academic qualifications.

1 Hon. Bbumba Syda Namirembe C/P Nakaseke North county Accountant masters
2 Hon. Bategeka Lawrence V/CP Hoima Municipality Economist PhD
3 Hon. Muyanja Johnson Senyonga Mukono south county Lawyer masters
4 Hon. Tayebwa Thomas  Ruhinda North Teacher Bachelors
5 Hon. Kalule Sengo Emmanuel  Gomba East county Administrator Masters
6 Hon.Igeme Nathan Nabeta Jinja Municipality Businessman Bachelors
7 Hon. Migadde Robert Ndugwa Buvuma Islands county Legislator masters
8 Hon. Okello Anthony Kioga county Economist Bachelors
9 Hon. Musoke Paul Sebulime Buikwe county Social scientist masters
10 Hon. Kibalya Henry Moris Bugabula South Pilot masters
11 Hon. Guma Gumisiriza David Ibanda North Economist Bachelors
12 Hon. Nambeshe John Baptist Manjiya county Economist Bachelors
13 Hon. Ikojo John Bosco Bukedea county Accountant masters
14 Hon. Angura Fredrick  Tororo South county Businessman Bachelors
15 Hon. Amero Susan Amuria Dwr Administrator masters
16 Hon. Mandera Amos Buyamba county Social worker masters
17 Hon. Babirye Judith Amuria Dwr Musician Bachelors
18 Hon. Seguya Lubyayi John Bosco Mawokota County south Administrator Bachelors
19 Hon. Lokeris Samson Dodoth East county Administrator Bachelors
20 Hon. Kajara Aston Mwenge county south Lawyer Bachelors
21 Hon. Martial Andrew Igara East Teacher Bachelors
23 Hon. Anne Mary Tumwine Ntoroko District Administrator Bachelors
24 Hon. Katwesigye Oliver Koyekyenga Buhweju District Businesswoman Bachelors
25 Hon. Akamba Paul Busiki Lawyer Bachelors
26 Hon. Adeke Anna Ebaju National Female youth Lawyer Bachelors
27 Hon. Nauwat Rosemary Amudat District Teacher Bachelors
28 Hon .Atiku Bernard Ayivu county Social worker Bachelors
29 Hon. Lakot Oruni Susan UPDF Soldier Bachelors
30 Hon. Jack Wamanga Wamai Mbale Municipality None Masters
31 Hon. Herbert Edmund Ariko Soroti Municipality Social worker Masters
32 Hon. Jimmy Akena Lira municipality Politician Certificate
33 Hon. Katoto Hatwib Katerera county Businessman Bachelors
34 Hon. Kamara John Ninzeyimana Bufumbira North Administrator Bachelors
35 Hon. William Nzoghu Busongora North. Social worker Masters


What has the committee done so far? 


The committee has approved three loans in this 10th Parliament and several others have not yet been approved by the committee.

The first loan approved by the parliament was to borrow for the Lake Victoria Maritime Communication and Transport Project. That loan is up to $ 14,4 Million USD or 52,409 billion, Uganda Shillings.

The second loan approved by the parliament was to borrow for the upgrade the road Kapchorwa-Suam-Kitale Road. These were two loans in one. Which is one $ 38,349,313.28 or 139,705 billion Uganda Shillings; this was borrowed from African Development Bank (ADB). The other was $ 56,129,597.12 or 204,437 billion Uganda Shillings from the African Development Fund (ADF).

The third loan was in Euros, first part from UK Export Finance (UKEF), which was EUROS 270,266,042.15, converted to US Dollars is $ 321,199,210.23 or in Uganda Shilling the total: 1,170,081,708,10 Uganda Shillings or in word One Trillion One Hundred Seventy billion Uganda Shilling. The second loan is in EUROS 37,110,585 from Standard Chartered Bank, converted to US Dollars is $ 44,112,060.75 or in Uganda Shillings 160,670,761,044.55 or in words One Hundred Sixty Billion, six hundred seventy million, seven hundred sixty-one thousand, forty-four and fifty-five hundredths, Uganda Shillings.[1]

With Uganda’s borrowing rates, I am certain there will be more loans before Parliament soon.




31 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *