Kadaga Names 20-Man Team To Vet EALA Nominees

Published 3 years ago -

The Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga has chosen 20 Members of Parliament to sit on a verification committee to vet aspirants vying for the East African Legislative Assembly.

The committee, which begins it work on February 15, 2017, will be tasked with drafting the final list of nominees whose names will be presented before the House on February 28 for final voting of Uganda’s representatives.

Kadaga named Ntungamo Woman MP, Beatrice Rwakimari, as the chairperson of the committee.

Rwakimari will be joined by Adjumani Woman MP, Jesca Ababiku, Arua Woman MP Moureen Osoru, Western Youth MP Mwine Mpaka, Ora Conty MP Biyika Onegiu, Kapchorwa Woman MP Rukia Chekamondo, Jinja West MP Moses Balyeku, Gulu Woman MP Betty Aol Ochan, Busia Municipality Geoffrey Macho and Bulambuli County Alex Mungoma.

Others are Bubulo West  MP Rose Mutonyi, Bukoto East MP Florence Namayanja, National PWDs MP, Safia Nalule Jjuuko, Maracha Woman MP Rose Ayaka, Jie County MP Moses Bildard Adome, Workers MP Sam Lyomoki, Wilson Nokrach (PWDs Northern),Emmanuel Ongiertho (Jonam), Apac Woman MP Santa Alum, Bukedea County MP, John Bosco Ikojo.

Kadaga, during the plenary sitting for February 14, 2017, outlined a number of terms of reference for the team, which will screen 48 nominees. The ruling NRM party presented six candidates who include Rose Akol, George Odongo, Matthias Kasamba, Paul Musamali, Mary Mugyenyi and Denis Namara.

The Democratic Party nominated Fred Mukasa Mbidde while Uganda People’s Congress nominated Chris Opoka. Both are incumbent EALA MPs and are seeking re-election.

The committee will verify whether the nominees are registered voters; do not hold a ministerial position, are not cultural or traditional leaders, have A-level or its equivalent, qualify to be elected as MPs first; citizens of Uganda; and are not serving officers in the East African Community (EAC).

The nominees should also have no criminal or bankruptcy record and must have resigned at least 90 days before nomination if they served in government.

The committee is expected to table its report before the House on February 20, ahead of voting on February 28th.

Kadaga instructed the MPs not to travel within and outside the country on February 27 and 28, in order to participate in the elections.



18 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *