Kagoma County MP Takes Oath Again

Published 3 years ago - 10

Kagoma County Member of Parliament, Moses Muwanika Walyomu has been sworn in yet again as a member of the 10th Parliament.

Walyomu took oath at the start of the plenary sitting on May 24, 2017, to be ushered into Parliament, following a by-election held by the Electoral Commission after his election was nullified.

The seat fell vacant after a panel of three judges at the Court of Appeal on March 10th nullified his election on grounds of voter bribery. His election was challenged by Alex Brandon Kintu, who stood as an independent in the polls.

In his petition, Kintu stated that there was election fraud manifested through voter bribery, which affected the outcome of the polls.

After declaring the seat vacant, the Electoral Commission organized a by election early this month in which Walyomu garnered 24, 257 votes against Kintu’s 18, 490 votes. Others in the race included FDC’s Timothy Batuwa with 8, 149 votes and independent candidate Mohammed Bidondole with 1,248 votes.

Walyomu was led to the podium by the Clerk to Parliament, Jane Kibirige, who took him through the oath amidst ululations from majorly NRM legislators.

The Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga handed over a copy of the Constitution and Parliament’s Rules of Procedure, which she asked the MP to study again.

“On behalf of Parliament, I welcome you back from the enforced leave…you will continue to serve on the committees which you were allocated,” Kadaga told the MP.



18 recommended
comments icon 10 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *