NRM Elects Candidates For EALA Race

Published 2 years ago -

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has finally elected six of its members to vie for slots to the East African Legislative Assembly.
 A day after elections to choose the candidates turned rowdy and was called off, NRM MPs put that aside and elected Paul Musamali, Matthias Kasamba, George Odongo, Rose Akol, Mary Mugyenyi and  Denis Namara to hold the party flag high at the regional Parliament.
The chaos stemmed from a decision by NRM Electoral Commission chairman, Dr. Tanga Odoi to allow for voting of seven candidates representing North, East, West, Central, Kampala, Women and Special Interest Groups.
However, MPs rejected this citing that the party was only entitled to six seats. Several MPs were seen exchanging words with Dr Tanga, forcing the polls to be postponed.
The fresh exercise which took place at State House Entebbe today February 8, 2017, saw former State Minister for Economic Monitoring, Henry Bamyenzaki and two others pull out of the race, citing irregularities in the precious election process.
However, MPs continued with the exercise after President Yoweri Museveni, who doubles as NRM chairman apologized to the members for the confusion yesterday.
After tallying of votes, Musamali garnered most votes at 157, followed by former Bukedea Woman MP Akol 139, former Kakuuto MP Kasamba 119, Odongo 119, former Nyabushozi MP Mugyenyi 115 and Namara 114.
Other candidates included Yona Musinguzi 95, Dombo 89 though he pulled out of the race, Sarah Kagingo 84, Sarah Wenene 83, Aber Lilian 66, Babu Francis 11, David Lewis 5, Faridah Mayanja 4, Jane Okili 14, Laura Kanusu 09, former Workers MP
Nabulya Teopista 3, Namirembe Sophie 3 and former Ntenjeru South MP Nsanja Patrick 2.
Others are former Yumbe Woman MP Huda Oleru 36, Sendi Mary 08, Tweheyo James 34, Kiryowa Stella 21, Mugide Mary 0, Muhumuza S 04, Muragira A 99, Mushemeza Elijah 07 and former Kigulu South MP Milton Muwuma 35.
According to Dr Tanga, the names will be forwarded to Parliament for scrutiny and later approval when the House sits on February 28 to vote.
The six join a bevy of candidates from the opposition as well as independent candidates who will vie for the nine slots of Uganda to EALA.
It will be a walkover for the NRM candidates, on grounds of numerical strength, which is slightly above 300 MPs.
FDC has forwarded names of former Kaberamaido Woman MP, Florence Ibi Ekwau and Ingrid Turinawe as their candidates endorsed the party while Democratic Party has fronted Fred Mukasa Mbidde as its choice.
UPC has two candidates including Chris Opoka who is seeking a second served term at EALA.



Also Read:  Day of African Child! Little or nothing to celebrate
13 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
bookmark icon

Leave a Reply

Did you like it?

Share this with your friends.