NRM secure six EALA posts as the incumbent get relected

Published 3 years ago -

Parliament last night voted all six candidates of the ruling National Resistance Movement and the three incumbent Mps Susan Nakawuki an independent Fred Mukasa Mbidde of the Democratic Party and Chris Opoka of the Uganda People’s Congress.

Former Internal Affairs Minister Rose Akol polled majority votes at 370, followed by Mathias Kasamba with 359, Paul Musamali-350 and George Odong with 346.

Mary Mugyenyi scored 341 while Dennis Namara scored 329, then Mbidde with 311 and Nakawuki at 298. All the three incumbent Mps have had a close working relationship with the ruling party and as thus, secured the endorsement of the top leadership.

Meanwhile FDC candidates Florence Ibi Ekwau and Ingrid Turinawe got 179 and 25 respectively. Other independents, Mariam Nalubega scored 74 votes and Benson Obua-Ogwal got 37 votes.

Four candidates Fred Luyinda, Mathew Mutyaba, Godfrey Sali and Joel Yiga did not get any vote.

Out of the 398 used ballots, 8 were invalid as members failed to vote the required number of nine candidates per a ballot. Only the top nine will be sent to represent Uganda in EALA-Arusha, in Tanzania.

The Speaker Rebecca Kadaga instructed Ms Jane Kibirige, the Clerk to parliament to immediately have the winners gazetted and sent to Secretary of the Regional Assembly before March 6th, 2017.

In a related development Ms Turinawe has threatened to petition the results of Tuesday election for the East African Legislative Assembly.

“I was heckled at something that is not fair, I will also challenge the protocol itself from failure to protecting the largest opposition party in the House,” she said.

The winners are still celebrating what they have referred to as a stiff battle.



11 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *