Parliament approves 46 new counties: An increase to 353 constituencies in the country

Published 3 months ago - 8

Parliament has approved the creation of 46 New Counties. This follows the motion moved by Hon. Raphael Magyezi, State Minister Local Government for a resolution of Parliament to create 46 new counties under article 179 of the Constitution.

In a Plenary sitting Chaired by the Speaker of Parliament on 30th July 2020, the MPs approved the creation of the long-awaited motion for the creation of new counties including splitting Nakawa division to create Nakawa West Constituency.

The new counties as approved by Parliament include; Kiboga West, Buhweju West, Bugangaizi South, Chkwi East, Bulanda, Kwania North, Kagoma North, Buwekula South, Buyanja East, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri Nakaseke Central, Kyaka Central, Ruhinda South, Bushigai, Gogonyo, Busiki North; Kapir, Butiru and West Budama North East.

Other counties approved by Parliament include; Kioga North, Bokora East, Napore West, Mawogola West, Otuke East, Ruhama East, Isingiro West, T’oo, Ochero, Soi, Namisindwa, Gweri, Pingire, Bunghoko Central, Aringa East, Maruzi North, Dodoth North, Rwampara East, Buhaguzi East, Nwoya East, Namayengo South, Elgon North and Samia-Bugwe South.

Parliament on 30th June 2020 deferred the creation the proposed 15 new counties following the concerns raised by MPs that the criteria used by Government to create new counties was unfair as it had left out many of the proposed counties.

Among the 15 counties proposed by Government of 30th June 2020 included; Kiboga West, Buhweju West, Lamwo East, Bugangaizi South, Chekwi East, Mulanda, and Buwekula South, Kwania North, Buyanja East, Kagoma North, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri and Nakaseke South.

The passing of the motion for the creation of the 46 Counties by the August House, however, left some of the MPs dissatisfied and complaining. Hon. Muhamed Nsereko MP Kampala Central expressed his discontentment with the motion saying the criteria used by Government to create new counties was unfair and unrealistic.

The Deputy Attorney General Jackson Kafuuzi noted that with the creation of 46 new counties, the number of constituencies in the country had risen from 307 to 353.

Following the approval by Parliament of 46 new Counties, the 11th Parliament is anticipated to have 527 MPs if Parliament considers the proposed Motion for creation of 5 seats for the Elderly Persons and the additional District Women Representatives.




29 recommended
comments icon 8 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *