Parliament approves alteration of boundaries of Arua District to create Terego district.

Published 1 month ago - 1

Parliament has today 5th of May, 2020 considered and passed the motion for resolution of #Parliament to alter Boundaries of Arua District to create a new District called Terego comprising of Terego County East & Terego County West with its Headquarters at Leju Trading Centre in Aiivu Sub-County.

During the Plenary session, with a total 243 of members present, 236 members voted in support of the creation of the new district, 5 abstained from the vote while two MPs voted against the motion.

Hon. Annet Nyakecho (MP Tororo County North ) sought to amend the motion presented by Hon. Raphael Magyezi ( Minister of Local Government) to allow for alteration of boundaries of Tororo District to create two new districts of West Budama County and Tororo County.  The proposal was, however, objected by Hon. Waluswaka.

The Speaker in her ruling directed that the motion by Hon. Nyakecho would be handled as separate motion from that of alteration of boundaries of Arua district to create Terego district. Hon. Magezi (Minister for Local Government) following a request from the Speaker committed to present the motion to #Parliament within 15 working days.

The new district (Terego) is set to take effect on the 1st of July 2020. Parliament during last week’s plenary session considered and approved the creation of 15 new cities some of which are set to take effect on the 1st of July 2020.



7 recommended
comments icon 1 comment
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *