Seven new cites take effect on first July 2020

Published 3 months ago -

Seven municipalities effective today attain city status, after Parliament on Tues­day 28th April 2020 approved a motion to create 15 new cities. Among the cities include Jinja, Gulu, Mbarara, Mbale, Arua, Fort Por­tal and Masaka.

The motion as passed by Parliament provided that the approved cities would be op­er­a­tional­ized in clus­ters. The sec­ond clus­ter includes Hoima, Lira and Soroti cites are set to take ef­fect on the 1st July 2021.

The third cluster includes En­tebbe City will take ef­fect on the 1st of July 2022 and the last clus­ter that in­cludes Wak­iso, Mo­roto, Naka­songola and Ka­bale cities are ex­pected to take ef­fect on the 1st of July 2023.

Equally, Parliament on 5th May 2020 passed the motion for a resolution of Parliament to alter Boundaries of Arua District to create a new District called Terego comprising of Terego County East & Terego County West with its Headquarters at Leju Trading Centre in Aiivu Sub-County. The new district (Terego) is set to take effect on the 1st of July 2020.

Col. Tom Butime, then Local Government Minister on 3rd December 2019, while presenting the motion for the creation of new cities before Parliament, noted that the new cities would accelerate urbanization and their coming into force plays perfectly well in the Vision 2040 scheme of things.



11 recommended
comments icon 0 comments
bookmark icon

Write a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *