Parliament to Hold the by-election to fill the existent vacancy in Uganda’s representation to the EALA.

Parliament will on Monday 26th July 2021 conduct a by-election to fill the existent vacancy in Uganda’s representation to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

This vacancy arose from the demise, on 27th April 2021, of Hon. Kasamba Mathias-one of Uganda’s representatives to EALA, who had been elected to EALA on 28th February 2021, on the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party ticket.

The East African Legislative Assembly is the legislative organ of the East African Community and consists of members elected from outside the national Parliaments of the five partner states, Kenya, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda.

Section 8 of the East African Legislative Assembly Elections Act, 2011 provides that a by-election would be conducted within 90 days from when the Speaker of EALA communicates the existence of a vacancy.

Ahead of the by-election, the Deputy Speaker on 21st July 2021, appointed a nineteen member committee chaired by Fox Odoi Oywelowo to verify and vet the suitability of the candidates to the requirements of Article 50 of the Treaty for the establishment of the East African Community.

The committee is expected to on Monday 26th July 2021 present to report to the House on the suitability of the candidates.

The membership of EALA currently stands at 62, with nine Elected Members from each of the six EAC Partner States and eight Ex-officio Members. The representatives are indirectly elected, being voted into their positions by their respective Parliaments.

The EAC Treaty requires that the Members should represent the diversity of views present in their own National Assemblies, and also that their selection meets certain criteria for gender balance.

The Ex-official Membership of EALA consists of those Ministers of each Partner State responsible for regional co-operation. Assistant Ministers may participate in the Assembly when Ministers are not present. The Secretary-General of the EAC and the Counsel to the Community are also Ex-officio Members.