News & Up­dates:

The newly elected Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Thomas Tayebwa, last afternoon chaired his maiden plenary session, promising to present before parliament his desired Modus-Operandi for debate and conduct while on, “his floor.”

Tayebwa who chaired his maiden house session on Tuesday 29th March 2022, thanked the MPs for elevating his predecessor Anitah Among to Office of the Speaker and himself from the position of a Government Chief Whip.

He appealed to the MPs to work closely with the Parliament leadership for smooth operation and dignity of the Institution of Parliament.

Tayebwa also requested to have an urgent meeting with the Leader of the Opposition in Parliament, Mathias Mpuuga, as a measure to have meaningful debates among opposition legislators.

He promised to closely work with all the Speaker of Parliament, the Executive, all MPs to ensure that Parliament fully executes its mandate of legislation, appropriation, representation and oversight.

The Speakership position fell vacant following the passing on the Rt. Hon Jacob Oulanyah. Who passed away on Sunday 20th March 2022 in Seattle, the United States of America, where he had been receiving specialized treatment since last month.

Oulanyah, who doubled as the Omoro County legislator and Vice-Chairperson of the ruling National Resistance Movement – NRM party for Northern Uganda, becomes Uganda’s first ever serving speaker to die in office.

He was flown out of the country on February 3, 2022, for specialized treatment following a referral by doctors at Mulago Hospital where he was admitted before his condition deteriorated.

Subsequently, Parliament held a sitting at Kololo Independence Grounds on Friday 25 March 2022, that saw the election of Hon Anita Among and Hon Thomas Tayebwa as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament, respectively.

Tayebwa’s maiden sitting was characterized by two major items in the Order Paper; Ministerial Policy Statements and budget estimates for the financial year 2022/23 and the alternative policy statements by the shadow (Opposition) cabinet Ministers.