The Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP), Mathias Mpuuga, has appointed the shadow cabinet following his appointment by the National Unity Platform (NUP), the official opposition party in Parliament.

The cabinet list released on 25th June 2021 by the Office of the LoP, comprised of 30 MPs of which 18 are from NUP, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has been given seven slots, while the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Uganda people’s Congress (UPC) and Democratic Party (DP) have each one member and two Independents.

In terms of gender distribution, 19 MPs are male (63.3%) while the females MPs are eleven (36.7%).

Article 82A(c) of the Constitution and Rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, empowers the LoP in consultation with his/her party leadership to appoint a shadow cabinet from members of the Opposition in Parliament.”

The shadow cabinet is mandated to provide alternative policy recommendations to the government on the floor of Parliament and to put the government to cheque.

Among the shadow Ministers appointed include, Wilfred Nuwagaba (Independent) – Attorney General, Shamim Malende (NUP) – Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Muwanga Kivumbi (NUP) – Finance Planning and Economic Devt, Nantongo Fortune Rose (DP) – Gender Labour and Social Dev’t, Atkins Katusabe (FDC) – Public Service, Derrick Nyeko (NUP)-Presidency and Security, Abed Bwanika (NUP)- Agriculture, Brendah Nabukenya (NUP)- Education,

The others are Jonathan Odur (UPC)- Defense and Veteran Affairs, Abdallah Kiwanuka (NUP)- Internal Affairs, Timothy Batuwa Lusala (FDC)- Health, Abubaker Kawalya (NUP)- KCCA, Muwada Nkunyingi (NUP)- Foreign Affairs, Ronald Balimwezo (NUP)- Lands and Housing, Asinasi Nyakato (FDC)- Energy and Minerals, Karem Masaba (Ind)- Tourism & Wildlife, Frank Kabuye (NUP)- Youth & Children Affairs, Francis Mwijukye (FDC)- Trade & Industry, Betty Naluyima (NUP)- Local Govts, Hanifa Nabukeera (NUP)- Human Rights.

Others are Christine Kaaya Nakimwera (NUP)- Water and Environment, Gorreth Namugga (NUP)- Science Innovations & Technology, Hilary Kiyaga (NUP)- Culture and Performing Arts, Anna Adeke Ebaju (FDC)- Co-operatives & Microfinance, Joyce Bagala (NUP)- Information & Anti-Corruption, Santa Okot (PPP)- Special Regions, Gilbert Olanya (FDC)- East African Community Affairs, Charles Tebandeke (NUP)- Animal Industry and Fisheries, Geoffrey Kayemba (NUP)- Sports.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments